By: ThailandPCX (offline)  Thursday, 06 August 2015 @ 07:40 AM ICT (Read 1515 times)  

Hello Motorcycle Thailand Form... I am new to the PCX world... I am looking at the JCosta Variator... WOW - what a radical design.... definitely takes a new approach to Variators... So, I would like to know about the Jcosta variator from people that have actually used them... (1) Did you gain any higher top speed..? (2) Really - did you notice smoother shifting..? (3) Acceleration better or not?.. (4) What's the real deal?..

I have watched YouTube... looks cool and every thing... but, also someone showed a problem.. keep reading...

I see the design and being a mechanical engineer with tool design... I think it would be a slight maintenance problem.. because you would need to clean often... since those little nub rollers need to spin around during operation... Any dirt get in there - they wouldn't spin and wear a flat spot very quickly - (YouTube)... you would have to take your Jcosta variator and throw in the garbage after that..?

So, my advice and I do not own one... DON'T Lubricate the nub rollers... this will ONLY collect dirt..

If the rollers are a high strength nylon compound they are self lubricating...

Any body here.... good or bad..?? Pro's or Con's..??

Thanks, Russell

ThailandPCX

Group Comfort
Level:
: 0

By: Flying Squirrel (offline)  Thursday, 06 August 2015 @ 01:03 PM ICT  

Hi Russel,

So, I would like to know about the Jcosta variator from people that have actually used them... (1) Did you gain any higher top speed..? (2) Really - did you notice smoother shifting..? (3) Acceleration better or not?.. (4) What's the real deal?..

The real deal is yes you get better top speed about 5 - 8 kph. ( depends on rider weight and wind conditions)