By: Anonymous: Michael ()  Tuesday, 04 December 2012 @ 04:39 PM ICT (Read 3329 times)  

I bough a Triumph Bonneville from an older gentleman who has been unable to ride for the last few years. I've cleaned it up to the point where it looks nice, and it runs good, too, except that the valves are noisy. I would like to adjust them myself, but I've never done it before.

How do I know if I am measuring the clearance at the right place? I know that cam lobes are eccentric, but I don't know to tell when a lobe is at the right place for adjustment. And how snug should a feeler gauge be when I slide it between the rocker arm and the valve? I've been told that it should be hard to push and also that it should go through with no resistance. Can somebody here set me straight?

By: news (offline)  Tuesday, 04 December 2012 @ 04:43 PM ICT  

Quote by: Michael

I bough a Triumph Bonneville from an older gentleman who has been unable to ride for the last few years. I've cleaned it up to the point where it looks nice, and it runs good, too, except that the valves are noisy. I would like to adjust them myself, but I've never done it before.

How do I know if I am measuring the clearance at the right place? I know that cam lobes are eccentric, but I don't know to tell when a lobe is at the right place for adjustment. And how snug should a feeler gauge be when I slide it between the rocker arm and the valve? I've been told that it should be hard to push and also that it should go through with no resistance. Can somebody here set me straight?

Just one more question, what year is your Bonneville?

news

Group Comfort
Level:
: +34

By: Anonymous: Michael ()  Tuesday, 04 December 2012 @ 04:56 PM ICT  

It's a Bonneville from 1968

By: ThaiDesign (offline)  Tuesday, 04 December 2012 @ 05:10 PM ICT  

Quote by: Michael

It's a Bonneville from 1968